Mommyhood · Pregnancy

Baby Boy Update: It Could Happen Anytime!

What a surprise. I’ve missed a few more weeks of updates! I see this trend continuing, but it’s not out or forgetfulness or laziness. We’ve just been busy between working, the new house and raising a very active toddler!

These past few weeks (month) have been crazy. I’ve been trying to get ahead at work for maternity leave and it’s hard as it’s a busy time of year. I’ve also been trying to get baby boys room put together. He won’t need much and we have all the necessities, but I like having things “finished”. The only thing we’re trying to figure out is a monitor for his room. We have an audio one in Charlotte’s room and are trying to figure out if she really needs one or if we should get a video one for him and leave her’s. Not sure I want to deal with two.

In addition to all the chaos, we decided to throw some more challenges into the mix last month – mainly big girl bed and potty training. Both have been going well, but need some finessing. But progress is progress and I’m excited to really only need to buy diapers for one kid!

We also had a follow-up allergy appointment for Charlotte last week as she is now on a preventative inhaler twice a day and a dose of zyrtec for her allergies/asthma. It seems to be working well. We also found out from her last appointment that she has more allergies. We retested certain foods – milk, egg, peanut –  and then added in some more of the common ones (all the nuts) and some environmental ones such as dog, cat, and outdoor allergens like certain trees, ragweed, etc. She is basically allergic to EVERYTHING! She came back positive on everything except cashews and brazil nuts. We’re still going to avoid all nuts as there is usually a lot of cross contamination. Her peanut did decrease a bit, but her egg skyrocketed and her milk is still really high. So we’ll retest again in a year and see where everything is at. The zyrtec and preventative inhaler should help keep many of these at bay, but I really hope she outgrows a lot of these, especially the milk and egg.

In regards to baby boy, this coming Tuesday marks 39 weeks! That’s one week until my due date, but he could come at any time. This time around is definitely a little more worrying only because we also have a toddler. Luckily we have some people ready to take action if we need help with Charlotte.

I’ve been going to weekly check-ups and last week they scheduled me for a growth ultrasound for this coming Wednesday as they say he is measuring a little small and just want to check (nothing to worry about). They also want to check his position. He was head down for a long time, but he may have turned a little sideways, so just a quick check. I can’t complain as I love seeing him on the ultrasound!

My last doctor appointment is this coming Friday, so we’ll see what happens. I’m really hoping he actually stays put until at least the beginning of October as we have a lot of birthdays at the end of September. We’re pulling for Oct. 4! So far I am not thinning and am only 1 cm dilated, so hopefully he does stay put until at least due date, but they say it happens faster the second time around, so who knows!

Currently: 38 weeks,  5 days

Cravings: Not a whole lot. I just get hungry really quickly sometimes.

Weight Gain: As of last week, 32 lbs. Ugh.

Sickness: None.

Sleep: A little difficult. He moves a LOT at night when I lay down to go to bed. Sometimes it hurts, but once he settles down I am usually able to find a good position and get a decent nights sleep.

Gender Prediction: 100% boy.

Mood: Excited and anxious. I have no idea what to expect and I think that’s ok as I know I’ll need to be flexible, but not knowing how or when this is going to happen (and that it could be any time) is a little hard to handle. I’m just trying to soak in each day.

Symptoms: I had bad reflux last week, which is thankfully gone. My back has started to hurt more (in one specific spot) and I’m always tired. My energy level has certainly taken a dive. Not a good thing when you have a toddler on your hands.

Looking Forward To: Seeing Charlotte interact with her baby brother. I think she’ll be a good helper, but sharing may be a challenge – especially sharing time with mommy. But you never know. She could surprise us all and I think she’ll be great.

Maternity Clothes: Uh, yeah.

Other News: Last week I had a sprinkle shower thrown for me, which was really sweet. We also had one of my sister-in-laws come over that morning and take some family photos of us as I realized that we really didn’t have photos of all three of us together and I wanted to capture that before we became a family of four!

Here’s the photos we have taken over the past few weeks!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

