Mommyhood · Pregnancy

Baby Boy: 22 Week Update

So technically today I am 23 weeks, but the photo was taken yesterday, while I was still 22 weeks.

Last week was very busy. We had nine house showings (and no offers – Ugh!). So we were in and out a lot. We also helped some friends move (Jed did most of that work while I chased Charlie around and tried to keep her from getting in the way).

Charlie also got sick over the weekend and we’re back on prednisone for the week and neb treatments. We caught this one earlier than the rest, but she still gets short of breath and has a cough. She also decided to share that cold with me, so now I am miserable and hope to get over it quickly for everyone’s sake.

Currently: (Going by photo) 22 weeks, 6 days

Cravings: Still a lot of sweets! I am trying to be good and watch what I eat, but it’s not going very well.

Weight Gain: A lot! I had an appointment on Friday and I have gained 17 lbs.! That is crazy (hence why I need to watch what I eat). They said I would gain quicker this go around and they were not kidding.

Sickness: Currently trying to get over a nasty cold.

Sleep: Good. Crazy dreams still. One that even startled me enough to wake me up!

Gender Prediction: 100% boy.

Mood: Good until I got sick.

Symptoms: backache every once in a while. Again, starting to get to that uncomfortable stage, especially if I’m not moving around much.

Looking Forward To: Getting over this cold so that I can start walking more. Since I saw the weight gain amount I decided I needed to be more active (apart from chasing Charlie around). So I have started walking more (trying to get to 10,000 steps a day). I have succeeded the past two days, but this cold has now got me down.

Maternity Clothes: Yep. And jeggings still, but those are going to be difficult soon.

Other News: I had a regular check-up last Friday and I got to ask more questions about the pelvic kidney and the placenta previa. It’s his right kidney that is in his pelvis. That’s where it will stay and it’s nothing to be concerned about. We’ll just need to let the pediatrician know about it. His left kidney during the last ultrasound had a little bit of fluid backup, but nothing major. Just something to check at the next one.

As for the placenta previa, I have a marginal one, which is what I was hoping for since that has the best odds for moving. It means it is very close to the cervix, but not covering it and should hopefully grow away from it. I hope that’s the case so I can have him without a c-section, which would be my preference.

My next ultrasound is July 2 and they will check both the placenta and his kidneys. I also get to do the glucose test, which I am NOT looking forward to. When I had Charlie, I didn’t pass the first test and had to do the 3-hour test at the hospital. I threw up during the first one (that’s just too much sugar!) and had to do it all over again. Thankfully, I passed that one. I hope I pass this first one.

So here’s the 22 week baby bump photo (he’s the size of a spaghetti squash). I finally have photos from when I was pregnant with Charlie to compare to since I didn’t start taking bump photos until 22 weeks with her! I am definitely bigger with this little boy.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Baby Boy: 22 Week Update

Leave a Reply

