Mommyhood

Thank Goodness For Antibiotics . . . And My Husband.

So this past week has been a doozy. I’ve been pretty lucky this crappy winter and only been sick once. But last Tuesday I woke up with a horrible sore throat and my ears felt like they were going to burst. I had many sets of tubes as a kid so my ears are usually my tell-tale sign that something’s up. So I went to the doctor Tuesday and they labeled it as a virus and told me to gargle salt water. Lovely. Let’s just say that I have NEVER gotten better from gargling salt water. I have asthma, and when I get sick, everything gets worse.

So Wednesday came and I was still feeling craptastic. All I have to say is that I am fortunate that Jed is only in Omaha as he was able to get out of work and come home to help me with Charlotte as I was in no condition to be taking care of an infant. He got home Wednesday afternoon and was able to pick her up from daycare.

I was still pretty freaking miserable Thursday and Friday, so I made another appointment on Saturday morning. And the verdict. Sinus infection. Finally! An actual answer and some antibiotics. I was so relieved to hear they were giving me antibiotics to kick this crap. I’m still not 100%, but I can hear again and can taste food, and have an appetite again.

Needless to say, I’m on the mend. But it was still hard those few days because I was still breastfeeding (and still am as the antibiotics prescribed are okay while nursing). And let me tell you, when you’re tired and aching and congested, you don’t want to do anything. But as a mom, you have to. I was so happy Jed was home and able to basically do everything except the feedings, but it was still difficult, especially trying to keep away from Charlotte when I thought I had a virus.

In happier news, Charlotte is on the move (even more). She is like the Energizer Bunny. Once she starts, she doesn’t stop unless she’s sleeping. She is full-blown army crawling everywhere! She finally made it out of her room and explored the dining room and kitchen. We’re in trouble now. No more putting off the baby-proofing. I’m not sure the dogs like this new-found mobility. They follow her and circle her like little sharks waiting to see what she does. Which is usually lunging at them or chasing them.

Evidence. (Sorry, I don’t know how to rotate this video).

And of course she went for the outlet! Why wouldn’t she?

Uh-Oh!
Uh-Oh!

Last, but not least, Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Happy St. Patrick's Day From Our Little Leprechaun!
Happy St. Patrick’s Day From Our Little Leprechaun!
5 thoughts on “Thank Goodness For Antibiotics . . . And My Husband.

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry you ended up getting so sick. It really does make being a mom so difficult… and the breastfeeding too! I got so sick once that I actually had my husband bring my pump to the bathroom (that I locked myself in) so I could relieve myself! It was the last thing I wanted to do, but I knew it was important for the baby to keep nursing so he would get all the antibodies that came with my milk. Crazy times… but they just make us stronger as mommies!

    And I absolutely love the look on her face in that last picture. She really is the sweetest looking baby!

Leave a Reply

