Randomness

And The Oscars Went To . . .

So I picked my winners. Below are my picks and the actual winners listed. I got 12 out of 24 correct – 50%. That would mean I failed, but I think I did a good job considering I didn’t see most of the films (I saw The Great Gatsby and Lone Ranger). I had no idea Gravity was going to clean house.

Best Picture
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
Gravity
Her
Nebraska
Philomena
12 Years A Slave – WINNER, Got it!
The Wolf Of Wall Street

Actor In Leading Role
Christian Bale
Bruce Dern
Leonardo DiCaprio
Chiwetel Ejiofor
Matthew McConaughey – WINNER, Oh yeah.

Actor In Supporting Role
Barkhad Abdi
Bradley Cooper
Michael Fassbender
Jonah Hill
Jared Leto – WINNER – Totally nailed it!

Actress In Leading Role
Amy Adams – My Pick
Cate Blanchett – Actual Winner
Sandra Bullock
Judi Dench
Meryl Streep

Actress In Supporting Role
Sally Hawkins
Jennifer Lawrence
Lupita Nyong’o – Actual winner (I was back and forth on this one)
Julia Roberts
June Squib-My Pick

Best Animated Feature Film
The Croods
Despicable Me 2
Ernest & Celestine
Frozen – WINNER – Got another one!
The Wind Rises

Achievement in Cinematography
The Grandmaster
Gravity – WINNER, got it.
Inside Llewyn Davis
Nebraska
Prisoners

Achievement in Costume Design
American Hustle – My Pick
The Grandmaster
The Great Gatsby – Actual Winner
The Invisible Woman
12 Years A Slave

Achievement in Directing
American Hustle
Gravity – Winner
Nebraska
12 Years A Slave – My Pick
The Wolf Of Wall Street

Best Documentary Feature
The Act Of Killing
Cutie And The Boxer
Dirty Wars – My Pick
The Square
20 Feet From Stardom – Actual winner

Best Documentary Short Subject
Cavedigger – My Pick
Facing Fear
Karama Has No Walls
The Lady In Number 6: Music Saved My Life – Actual winner
Prison Terminal: The Last Days Of Private Jack Hall

Achievement in Film Editing
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
Gravity – Winner
12 Years A Slave – My Pick

Best Foreign Language Film Of The Year
The Broken Circle Breakdown
The Great Beauty – WINNER – And another one.
The Hunt
The Missing Picture
Omar

Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling
Dallas Buyers Club – WINNER – Got it!
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa
The Lone Ranger

Achievement in Music (Original Score)
The Book Thief
Gravity – Actual winner
Her – My Pick
Philomena
Saving Mr. Banks

Achievement in Music (Original Song)

Happy
Let It Go – WINNER, Yay!
The Moon Song
Ordinary Love

Achievement in Production Design
American Hustle – My Pick
Gravity
The Great Gatsby – Actual winner
Her
12 Years A Slave

Best Animated Short Film
Feral
Get A Horse!
Mr. Hublot – Actual winner
Possessions
Room On The Broom – My Pick

Best Live Action Short Film
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)
Helium – WINNER – Whoa, I had no idea. Good guess.
PitÄÄkÖ Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)
The Voorman Problem

Achievement in Sound Editing
All Is Lost
Captain Phillips
Gravity – WINNER. Woo Hoo!
The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug
Lone Survivor

Achievement in Sound Mixing
Captain Phillips
Gravity – Actual Winner
The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug
Inside Llewyn Davis – My Pick
Lone Survivor

Achievement in Visual Effects
Gravity – WINNER – I’m getting good at this.
The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug
Iron Man 3
The Lone Ranger
Star Trek Into Darkness

Adapted Screenplay
Before Midnight
Captain Phillips
Philomena
12 Years A Slave – WINNER, One more!
The Wolf Of Wall Street

Original Screenplay
American Hustle
Blue Jasmine
Dallas Buyers Club
Her – Actual winner
Nebraska – My Pick

How did you do?! What was your favorite part of the show?

Now I need to start filling my Netflix account with these movies!

Leave a Reply

