Mommyhood

One Day At A Time

Today was Charlotte’s first day at daycare. It was also the most time I’ve been away from her since she was born! I know it was only 8 hours, but since it’s just been me and her for the most part, it felt like forever!

And I am going to be completely honest here. I cried. I hated it. The only way I can describe it was that I felt like I was abandoning her. But I knew I wasn’t and I also knew that she and I really need this. She needs to socialize. She’s ready for that interaction. And I need to get back to feeling more like a human being (and myself) and less like a mombie just barely getting things done.

I made sure when I dropped her off to stay for a little bit to let her warm up to her new surroundings and new people. She was a little cautious at first doing her little laugh/cry thing she does, but she soon started smiling and talking and wanting to play with the other kids. I also made sure she saw me leave so she would understand (not that she probably does), but I didn’t want to “disappear” on her.

She was asleep when I came to pick her up so she was a little cranky about being woken up, but she soon woke up and was happy and smiley again when she saw the kids, which makes me feel better.

So as they usually say, the kids do better than the parents. It helped that I was pretty busy today. Distractions help. Keeping busy helps (which I have never had a problem with).

Right now we’re just going to take it one day at a time. We need to give this a chance to work, but it’s also nice to know that if we don’t like how it’s going, we can find a different place. And again, it’s only part-time and I need to remember that we’re blessed to have that opportunity.

On another note, we’re starting more solids now and tonight we introduced sweet potatoes. I’ll let the pictures do the talking on how that turned out.

And lastly, someone is getting close to figuring out how to crawl! Over the past couple of days, Charlotte has gotten up on all fours and rocked back and forth and has even pushed herself forward. We’re in trouble once she actually figures out all the mechanics of it. Good luck Tank and Dora because she’s coming after you two first!

Getting ready for 4-wheel drive!
Getting ready for 4-wheel drive!
5 thoughts on “One Day At A Time

  1. I stumbled on your blog through pinterest and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I am also in PR/Marketing, newly married and coming up on big life decisions AND a new blogger! 🙂 Congrats on everything and I’m so happy to have found your blog!

    1. Hello and thank you! Welcome to the world of blogging. I love it. As you can probably tell, our daughter takes up a lot of my blogging topics, but I hope to expand on other topics as well. Congrats on your marriage!

      1. I have two nephews (1.5 and 4) and hope to have one of my own some point in the near future, so I’m into the baby posts too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

