Mommyhood

Charlotte Mae: Six Months

Charlotte Mae - Six Months
Charlotte Mae – 6 Months

Half a year old already! Where has the time gone? This little girl is growing up so fast.

Today marks six months for Miss Charlotte Mae. We don’t have her well-visit until next Monday so I’ll have to update his post next week with all of her stats.

We did end up going to the doctor last week though because her skin was SO dry from this crazy cold, winter weather and we wanted to see if there was anything else we could do for her. The nurse said it was eczema and that it’s common and to continue doing what we’re doing, which is bathing every other night and lotion (unfragranced) 2-3 times a day. Poor little girl. Although she doesn’t seem to be bothered by it. When we took her in they did weigh her with her clothes on and she was 18 lbs., 7 oz. I’ll be curious to see how long she is.

Jed is now in Omaha for his additional training. While we are sad he had to leave again, at least he gets to come home every weekend, which will be nice. I can’t wait until he’s home for good and we can get some semblance of a routine put together.

While Jed was home we continued to look for part-time child care. We found someone and Charlotte will be starting on the 11th. There is a flood of emotions going through me right now! I’m sad, excited, nervous, worried, etc. I know this will be good for both of us.

Charlotte definitely needs to start socializing and I can tell she’s ready for a change of scenery. She’ll be the youngest at this in-home, which also has a 10-month old, 16-month old and two almost 3-years olds. So she’ll have lots to look at and learn from, which will be really good for her. But it makes me sad as I’ve spent every day with her since she was born. I don’t think I’ve been away from her for more than a few hours. Plus, there’s that whole trust thing. We both like this provider. Two of the kids are her own. She’s a younger, so she has the energy to keep up with everyone. But you just never know and I am a little bit of a control-freak, so this is going to be hard.

But I have to remember that this will also be good for me. I’ll be able to get work done during the day (not just when she’s napping) and get other ย things done, like going to the grocery store. Plus, we’re only doing part-time right now, which means I still get to hang out with her on Mondays and Fridays (and of course the weekends!). So I think it will be a good balance.

Since she’s going to be starting daycare next week and Jed went to Omaha this week, we decided to come up to MN this week (which is where we are now) to have a long visit with Grandma and Grandpa. It was also Grandma’s birthday on Saturday.

Charlotte is still constantly moving. If she’s awake, she’s moving. She loves to bounce and roll. She can sit up pretty well, but still needs support and still dive-bombs so we have to watch her. I’m sure within a month or so she’ll be able to sit up without much help.

She does this funny little pose now. Future model? Oh, boy! Usually she also has her hand on her bum. She loves laying on her side and can balance really well.

Future model? She's got the pose down.
Future model? She’s got the pose down.

We also started to sleep train this past weekend – which basically means trying to wean her off night feedings so that she can sleep through the night. It’s been going okay. She usually wakes up once a night and it depends how long it takes for her to fall back asleep. Sometimes it’s an hour, sometimes a half hour or like last night, just a couple of minutes. The hard part is that she gets really congested with this dry air and I think that makes it hard for her to fall back asleep. So we’re just going to keep working at it.

Likes:ย Rice cereal, rolling, moving, smiling, giggling (she’ll mimic our laughs now), the dogs, watching people, books, pacifiers, anything she can put in her mouth, bouncing (in her jumper or on a knee), sitting up, shoes, talking, banging toys on her tray

Dislikes:ย Being left alone, clearing or wiping her nose, having lotion put on her face

And of course, a few photos:

And I had to post this (sorry, Jed). Grandpa found a photo of daddy doing the same thing! Like father, like daughter.

Like Father, like Daughter.
Like Father, like Daughter.

And lastly, a quick recap.

9 thoughts on “Charlotte Mae: Six Months

  1. She sounds so much like Ruth! How fun!

    Have you tried a humidifier in her room when she sleeps to help with the congestion? We use one quite often and it seems to help. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. She is way too cute:) I love her adorable bows, by the way. Do you remember where you got your bows from?? I hope daycare transition goes well. Sounds like she will do great interacting with the other little ones. Sounds like a really good situation. I understand the guilt, but you need a bit of time for yourself and for getting things done too. She will enjoy the time spent there, but will enjoy coming home to mommy too!!

    1. Thanks! I have gotten a few bows from a local store here called Lincoln & Lexi and some at target. I’d love to start making some.

      I’ll be excited to pick her up every day. Something to look forward to ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. so cute I also had a daughter same old as yours… nice picture from 1 month old pose till the present…nice idea, I love it… I will try to look for some pics from 1 month till this month with the same position…I’m jealous that you have this compilation…I will copy your idea, hope you don’t mind…

Leave a Reply

