Mommyhood

Finally!

Today is the day!

Five months later and Jed is done with his training in Texas and on his way home. And we are SO excited.

It’s a little crazy to think about the past five months. Right now it feels like it’s gone fast, but I know there were definitely days (and weeks) that it didn’t.

We can’t wait to all be under the same roof again, for at least a little bit. Jed will have some additional training that is still yet to be determined, so we’ll be making the most of our time together when he gets back. Although I must admit that it’s going to be weird at first to have Jed home because it’s just been the two of us (four including Tank and Dora) for a long time. Sure, Jed’s been back, but it’s only been for a few days at a time so I’m excited that he’ll be home so we can figure out a routine that includes BOTH of us.

Apart from that exciting news, Charlotte has been keeping busy. This past week has been fun (apart from the inconsistent sleep patterns, which are starting to get better).

We had two play dates with our friends Jami and Aela. Aela is exactly 12 weeks younger than Charlotte and they only live two blocks away! Jami and I have been friends since we met years ago and it was so exciting to find out they were expecting a little girl as well.

I think Aela was more interested in Charlotte, but they were funny together. Talking to each other, crying together, eating at the same time.

Hanging with our friend, Aela.
Hanging with our friend, Aela.
Checking each other out.
Checking each other out.

Charlotte is still moving non-stop so I’m doing my best to try to keep her entertained and able to move. She does like sitting in her high chair and playing while I clean and get things done around the house. We do lots of tummy and are trying to sit up. She’s still a little wobbly and tends to slump to one side when sitting.

She isn’t crawling, but I can tell she wants to. She can scoot a little bit. She’ll curl up in a ball on her stomach and then push forward with her legs. She just needs to figure out how to get her arms involved and then we’re all in trouble! She does this a lot when she’s sleeping at night. I usually put her at the end of the crib because I know she’ll move and she always ends up in the top corner, butt up and all.

Funny sleeper.
Funny sleeper.

She LOVES watching the dogs. She is constantly looking at them, smiling at them, blowing bubbles at them, giggling when they sneeze or play with their toys. They are going to be in trouble when she moves as I’m pretty sure she will be chasing them.

The stare down. Dora and Charlotte.
The stare down. Dora and Charlotte.

She is constantly drooling, so I am wondering if we’re getting close to teething. I’m not sure I’m ready for it as I love her gummy smile.

She also has a new favorite thing to do. Jump!

Her uncle Kevin got her a bumper jumper for Christmas and at first she didn’t quite know what to do, but that’s not the case now. She LOVES this thing! We had a little fun jumping to some (explicit) music. Good thing she doesn’t understand words yet!

She can really get going in this thing, which I think is hilarious to watch.

And a few pictures (cause that’s what everyone wants to see anyway).

So that’s what we have going on. We hope you’re having a great day and stay tuned for updates on the whole “Holl” family.

6 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. I am so emotional FOR you about this. I have followed you for so long and couldn’t be happier that this time has come. Sending so much love to your family! xoxo

    1. Thank you! You and all the other bloggers have been so supportive and helpful during this time. I think blogging and seeing everyone else’s updates have kept me sane and inspired.

  2. OMG! So excited for you to have your husband back home. That makes me smile 🙂

    Coyer moves so much in his crib at night too… only he’s on his back/side moving. He’ll do a complete 180 through the night. And he really likes to prop up his legs against the crib rails. I finally put a mesh bumper in his crib because he kept getting his arms and legs wedge in there! I swear every other mom I talk to has a baby that sleeps in the same spot all night long. So glad to see I’m not the only one with such an active sleeper!

    Love seeing Charlotte in her jumper… that’s way too cute!

    1. That is funny that he’s a mover too. She is NEVER in the same spot I put her down in, scooting all over the place, and yes, sometimes getting her foot or arm in between the rails. I have some bumpers I need to put up.

      It’s only a matter of time now, so good luck!

  3. Ah you must be so excited about Jed coming home!

    Oh my goodness, the picture of Charlotte in the corner of her crib is so funny! When I had Caroline’s crib mattress propped to help with her reflux I would come in in the middle of the night and find her sideways even in her swaddle! She is going to be all over the place soon.

    1. Once they figure out how to move I swear they never stop!

      We are super excited he’s home and just in time as it snowed yesterday! Now I don’t have to shovel 🙂

      I hope all is well. It sounds like Caroline is doing a lot better with the bottles.

Leave a Reply

