Mommyhood

Charlotte Mae: Four Months

Charlotte Mae - 4 Months
Charlotte Mae – 4 Months

Seriously, where has the time gone!? Our little baby is practically an adult. Okay, okay. I’m exaggerating, but she’s growing up so fast.

She is four months old today and showing more and more of her fun, little personality.

I don’t have her stats as our 4-month appointment isn’t until next Monday, so I’ll make sure to update this post once we have those. We did weigh her at the chiropractor’s office a of couple weeks ago and she was 15 lbs. 10 oz. so I’m going to guess she’s around 16 lbs. The sweatshirt she’s wearing in the photo above is a 9-month size, so I know she’s getting big!

We’re still going to the physical therapist and chiropractor for her torticollis. We were able to skip a week because she was doing well, but we got off on our stretches over the holiday so we’re back to every week. But the good news is that they said she would probably be done with PT within the next 2-3 visits (before Christmas!), so that is great news! She is improving every time and now she doesn’t mind tummy time at all and will stay on her tummy for 10 minutes at a time. I can tell she wants to roll over as she gets about halfway and then stops out of frustration. She’s rolled from her tummy to her back a couple of times, but she needs to learn to lift her head a little more to get over her arm. I’m 50/50 on which way she’ll roll next as she’s also almost rolled from her back to her tummy. So it could be either way.

As the board says, she’s not fond of napping. She is definitely a catnapper. Mornings are usually okay, but she never sleeps for very long – maybe 45 minutes tops. Afternoons are a whole different animal. Sometimes the only way I can get her to take a nap is if it’s on me. I try to put her down in her crib once she falls asleep on me, but she wakes up every time and starts to wail and nothing will soothe her. Sometimes she will fall asleep, but again, it’s for a short period of time, nothing over an hour. So we’re just going to keep at it and I hope we find a rhythm soon as I would like to be able to get some things done in the afternoon and not have an overtired baby. I have noticed that she now prefers to sleep on her side, which is fine in the crib, but doesn’t quite work in my arms.

She is so much more mobile now – basically rolling from side to side constantly. I never find her in the same direction I put her down in. She’s always looking around trying to see what’s going on. She is also grabbing at everything she can get her hands on and putting what she can into her mouth. She’ll take her socks off and puts those in her mouth, her pacifier clip and pacifier (if she’s lucky), her toys, my hair, my hands, etc. It’s quite funny because she kind of grunts when she does it like she’s trying to eat it. She’ll also lick things or stick her tongue out at them.

We also borrowed an exersaucer from my sister-in-law and Charlie loves it. We have to put in some blankets for support, but other than that she likes looking at everything and being upright.

So here’s her 4-month lists:

Likes: Her toes, pulling up her legs, mirrors, tummy time, being held, sitting up to watch t.v. (football and cartoons), books, her toys (especially her new dragonfly we got from a friend of my parents), making faces and funny sounds, laughing (daddy makes her laugh the most), watching the dogs, talking (or babbling), smiling, chiropractor, singing with mommy, drooling, kicking her legs, bath time.

Dislikes: Naps, sitting still, taking her reflux medicine (which is harder now that she can grab things), startling noises.

And some photos:

We also had a great Thanksgiving. Jed was able to come home for a few days (although I wish he was home for good). Unfortunately my family wasn’t able to come down because of schedules and some other things going on, but we’re going up to MN for Christmas. We had Thanksgiving at (one of) my sister-in-laws house. It was a good time with lots of food and fun. I even learned how to knit!

We had a couple of outfit changes as I bought these red pants for Charlotte (in 6-month size) and they were too small! So then we put her little jeans on and Jed said she looked like a boy, which she did. I wish I would have had a bow that matched, but I didn’t.

First Thanksgiving!
First Thanksgiving!

So we put her in a dress instead! Much better. 🙂

Watching football with Daddy
Watching football with Daddy

Here’s a quick recap of the past four months!

2 thoughts on “Charlotte Mae: Four Months

  1. Oh my goodness, she is just precious! I can’t believe she is already 4 months! What a big girl in her play area/ walker thingy (I don’t know what that’s called). She looks so adorable!

  2. Wow, she really has grown! Such a sweet little girl 🙂

    That’s so awesome that she has started rolling over now. And from both back-to-front, front-to-back! Coyer rolls over pretty good from his tummy, but he’s not going anywhere once when he’s on his back. Reminds me of a beetle bug, just stuck there – arms and legs flailing until someone picks him up.

    I hope Charlotte’s napping gets better. We struggle the most with afternoon/evening naps too. I just try to get as much done during the morning naps as possible. I know I can count on a longer nap at that time.

Leave a Reply

