Mommyhood

Our Weekend

As you may or may not have known, Jed came home this past weekend. And as always, time went by way too fast.

I thought I would be smart and schedule formal 3-month family photos at our local Target store while Jed was in town. I thought this was a good idea because it would be quick (wouldn’t have to ask someone to come over to take them) and we would get “professional” family portraits taken – since we don’t many family photos.

It was all going perfectly! We had our appointment at 11:10 a.m. on Saturday morning. Not too early, not too late – get in and out quickly. We timed it well. Charlotte had eaten an hour before (just enough time to be full, but done spitting up) and she had a nice little nap so she was happy as a clam and super smiley. We get there right on time and of course, they’re behind. Okay, that wasn’t a big deal as we weren’t close to feeding time and she was happy. Twenty minutes later we finally get in and start taking our photos. Charlotte is happy and smiley and everything is going well (can you tell it’s not going to end well?). They tell us it takes about 15-20 minutes to pull the photos up for us to review so we walk around the store and pick up a few things (since we were already out). We head back 20 minutes later and give them our name again so we can look at our photos.

Then the manager/head person (?) comes over to me and says “I’m so sorry”. Sorry for what? Being busy? Nope. When she told me what she was sorry for my heart sank . . .

“We lost your photos.”

WHAT!! I didn’t know whether to start yelling or crying. How could you lose photos we just took 20 minutes ago?! There are at least five families here and ours are the only ones missing? I was furious. They asked if we wanted to wait until after the next session to get in again or reschedule.

Well, that would be nice to reschedule except for the fact that my husband is only in town until Monday and this was not on my list of things to do again. So we decided to wait the 15 minutes and try again since we were all dressed up. This was bad as we were now getting close to feeding time – and of course we didn’t bring a bottle because we thought we were only going to be there for an hour tops! Live and learn I guess.

So we get in and we get halfway through another session and Charlotte has had enough. She is hungry and tired. We stop. Now what? I really wanted to get these photos done and was so upset. After talking about it we decided to go home and feed her and let her nap and come back later for a 2:40 appointment. I made it very clear to them that we wanted to get in ON TIME as this was so inconvenient for us. So we go home, I feed Charlotte and we try to get her down for a quick nap, but she wasn’t having any of it. So we leave again for the appointment and of course she falls asleep right before we get there. Great! I don’t want to wake her up but we’re here and we have to make it worth our time. She did get about 15 minutes (I know, not enough). We get her out and while she was definitely tired, she did well. Not as well as our first time, but she didn’t cry. We managed to get some photos, and some good ones of her (which I really wanted).

Here’s a quick glimpse of one of the shots that I took a screen shot of from our online album. We don’t get the CD or prints until November 19th. I picked up this super cute lace romper and bow from Lincoln & Lexi.

Charlotte 3-Month

While I think they should have given us more for the extreme inconvenience, they did give us three free sheets of photos on top of the three we were already getting for free for bringing in canned food for their food drive.

So what should have taken an hour took about 4.5 hours when all was said and done and we were home. I think what made me the most mad was that I knew we only had so much time to spend with Jed and I didn’t want to be doing that.

When we got home Jed stayed with Charlotte while I went to the grocery store to stock up for the week. That night Jed and I got to hang out and watch a movie together. It’s been a long time since we’ve done that!

Sunday was a lazy day. I had some returns to make so again Jed stayed home with Charlotte while I went out. There were definitely more things I could have done, but I’ve been feeling a little under the weather – like somethings coming on – so I didn’t want to push myself and decided to “try” to rest. We watched our football games and just spent time together as a family.

Nap time with daddy
Nap time with daddy

It was SO helpful that Jed got up with Charlotte in the mornings to feed her so I could sleep a little longer. It was a nice break for me and good for Charlotte to have daddy-daughter time. She actually slept through the night both Saturday and Sunday night (7ish-5 a.m.). Hopefully that continues.

Today was also a lazy day and we had our first snow! Ugh, I’m not ready for snow yet. Jed’s flight wasn’t until this evening so we were able to spend time together today. Jed helped with some things around the house that have been neglected and also hung out with us.

So that was our weekend. Like I said, it went by way too fast. I can’t wait until he’s back again for Thanksgiving.

And lastly (but not least), Happy Veteran’s Day to all of those that have and currently serve in the armed forces, especially my husband. It’s not easy being married to someone in the military, but it’s worth it and I am so proud and thankful for everything you do for us as a family and for our country.

My Veteran
My Veteran

I thank you for your service and dedication.

2 thoughts on “Our Weekend

  1. Oh my goodness! That story sounds like something that would happen to me. LOL! Sorry you had such a rough day at Target… that’s supposed to such a happy place for us moms. I love that picture of Miss Charlie though, so cute!

    Glad you got to spend some quality time with your hubs… that makes me smile for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

