Mommyhood · Travel

Taking A Two-Month Old To SeaWorld

We decided to go to SeaWorld in San Antonio over the weekend. Why?

1. Because ever since I saw Free Willy, I wanted to see an orca.
2. Because it was free through their Waves of Honor program for military personnel.

Honestly, if it wasn’t free, I wouldn’t take a two-month old!

I had no idea what to expect, but even no expectations wasn’t enough to prepare me for this little fun-filled (anxiety-ridden) excursion.

All in all I was glad we went, but here were a few things I was not prepared for:

1. The heat. It was probably in the high 80’s, which wouldn’t have been too bad if it weren’t for the humidity added in. I was sweating just walking to the front gates! I thought that they would sell fans in the gift shops, but oh no, not SeaWorld in San Antonio. Note: When I asked a store clerk if they did, she informed me that Disneyland did, but that SeaWorld has never sold fans. Thank you clerk. That would have been very helpful if we were at Disneyland.

2. Waiting for our tickets. I should have known better since it was a major attraction, but I guess I didn’t even think about it. And when your child is on a 2-hour feeding schedule, you think about time . . . a lot! It didn’t take too long, but we also were stalled a little bit as Jed had to go put his knife in the truck. Note: Don’t bring knives to SeaWorld.

3. I did not know that each exhibit was a show so you had to leave your strollers at the gate. So that meant taking little Charlotte in and out of her stroller, which would have been fine, but again, it was hot and body heat didn’t help. Also, I was a little paranoid about leaving our stroller and diaper bag where any walker-by could take them. We didn’t stay at the shows very long, so we didn’t leave them for that long. Note: SeaWorld is a great place to find a new stroller (not that we would take one). Just saying.

4. The crowds. I thought having a stroller would be the universal sign of “please move a little so we can get around you”, but alas, it is not and we were moving all over the place for others. I guess we need a bigger stroller or need to learn to stand our ground and hope for the best. I also tend to get a little claustraphobic in large crowds, so that didn’t help.

Although this post sounds mostly like complaining, I really had a great time (okay, I could have done without all the heat and sweating)!

Here are some photos from the day!

20131015-203220.jpg

20131015-203259.jpg

20131015-203324.jpg

20131015-203340.jpg

20131015-203413.jpg

20131015-203457.jpg

20131015-203523.jpg

20131015-203544.jpg

20131015-203558.jpg

20131015-203627.jpg

10 thoughts on “Taking A Two-Month Old To SeaWorld

  1. I had to look at Zoárd’s 2 months old pictures to see what we did at the time. We took him to the beach a tiny bit (it was cold in March in Barcelona) and he got to see the Sagrada Familia.
    I think it all comes down to how you feel about these challenges and happenings. For example. I am very OK with breastfeeding in public but I hate crowds with Zoárd.
    I can already tell you that when Zoárd was 3 months old we took him to a park for the very first time. It was an event for people doing cloth diapering (Guinness record attempt: changing diapers). We took him for his first swimming class and he flew on a plane for the very first time. We spent a few days in Budapest and there we even changed his diaper on a bench.

    xoxo, Eszter
    http://kukolina.wordpress.com/

  2. I was about to say the same thing as Mommyintraining!

    The photos do show you had fun, even if there was heat and sweating and crowds. I do know what you mean about those.

  3. You ROCK! I totally feel you about the 2 hour feeding schedule. Miss H is the same and I panic even taking her out in public for more than a few hours…. What a fun memory the trip is though and Charlie is cute as ever! Also, you are looking fabulous!

  4. Love it! Not perfect, but still a great experience. Love the pics, particularly the last one where Charlie Mae is laughing and kicking her little chubbers!!

Leave a Reply

