Fun Facts · Mommyhood

Charlotte Mae: Two Months

Little miss Charlotte turned two months on Friday, October 4th! I honestly can’t believe it. Time is going by too fast and she’s growing too fast! It is so amazing to see how much she has changed in just a few short weeks. It’s also hard to get a photo of her because she LOVES to move! I waited to post this update until today so we could have her stats since we had her 2-month appointment this morning.

Charlotte - Two Months
Charlotte – Two Months

Since we didn’t have an actual one-month appointment, I am including her two-week stats along with her two-month stats to compare to.

Charlotte Mae – Two Month Update

Weight:
2 Weeks = 9 lbs., 2 oz. – 75th percentile
2 Months = 13 lbs., 11 oz. –  97th percentile

Height:
2 Weeks = 21.3″ – 81st percentile
2 Months = 24.5″ – 97th percentile

Head Circumference:
2 Weeks = 36.5 cm – 61st percentile
2 Months = 40.5 cm – 86th percentile

She also got her first immunizations today and while it was hard, I kept back my tears mostly because I’ve seen those cries before and I knew why she was crying and that it would be over in a little bit. But I’m not saying it wasn’t hard to watch. She didn’t cry for the first shot, but she sure did for the next four! I did pick up some infant Tylenol afterwards as they say they can run a fever after getting the shots. They say the side effects can be fussiness (expected after getting poked with 5 needles!), tiredness, a fever and maybe some leg soreness. Here’s what she got:

1. Hep B (she also got this at the hospital when she was born)
2. DTaP for Diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis (whooping cough)
3. IPV for Polio
4. Hib for Haemophilus influenzae b
5. Prevnar for Pneumococcus
6. Rotateq (taken orally) for types of Rotavirus

I was never anti-vaccine, but if you’re questioning it, I recommend reading this article. I did not know about herd immunity and knowing about it now, I’m glad miss Charlotte is protected since this is one of those topics that you can only change your situation, not someone else’s. So I’m all good if someone doesn’t want to vaccinate their children, but I’m making sure my child is safe.

After immunizations
After immunizations

The doctor also recommend we continue with the Prilosec for her reflux. She did say that most babies stop having reflux around 6 months when they are able to sit up better.

She also said to take Charlotte to see a physical therapist for her neck as she favors one side and resists going to the other. She said we probably wouldn’t need to go for very long, but we want to get her looking both ways before she starts getting a flat spot. A friend of mine did show us some neck stretches that she does with her son who has torticollis. So I’ve started doing those to see if they’ll help. I also take Charlotte to the chiropractor so we’ll get it all straightened out (pun maybe intended ;)).

Likes: Smiling, kicking/moving, watching what’s going on, watching her mobile, being held, sleeping on mommy’s chest, stroller rides, car rides, light fixtures and ceiling fans, her hands and mirrors.

Dislikes: Baby Bjorn (hopefully this changes by Thursday!), being forced to move her head to her un-preferred side and tummy time because she can’t move her head both ways and so she gets frustrated.

She is tracking things really well and is very alert of her surroundings, especially sounds! She now reacts to sounds (crying) versus just being startled and getting wide-eyed. She is a little conversationalist. We sit and talk a LOT! I sing to her, although I am not a great singer, but she doesn’t know the difference and I always get smiles out of her when I sing.

The best part of the last week – she slept through the night two nights in a row! I know they technically say sleeping through the night is midnight to 5 a.m., but she has slept from 8:00 p.m. – 5 a.m.! I woke up worried that our monitor broke and I couldn’t hear her, but it worked and she was sleeping when I checked on her. She’s back to a feeding at night, but it’s progress.

This week is going to definitely be a test of patience for both Charlotte and myself as we’re traveling down to Texas to visit Jed. We’re flying, so I am super nervous about how that will go and how she will be. We’re flying during her “fussy” time, so hopefully she’ll be distracted with the sights and sounds and won’t cry too much. But if she does, she does. That’s what babies do and I have to remind myself that it’s only for a short amount of time. I just wish we had a direct flight so that I wouldn’t have to do the take off/landing thing twice. But oh well. I’ll be posting about the before and after of flying solo with a baby.

If anyone has any advice to share before we take off, I am all ears!

And lastly, a side-by-side comparison from one-month to two-months!

5 thoughts on “Charlotte Mae: Two Months

  1. Wow, Charlotte is growing like a weed! Sounds like breastfeeding must really be working well for the two of you.

    How exciting she slept through the night. Sounds like you are getting close to her doing that regularly! I bet that will feel so nice.

    Have fun on your trip. I’m sure you are really excited to see your hubby. I’m sure heis even MORE excited to see the 2 of you gals! I hope the air travel goes smoothly. Even if she does fuss and cry, that’s what babies do and don’t let anybody give you a hard time. They are only rude. Hopefully she does well though. I’ve heard feeding helps their ears pop for the altitude change.

  2. She is looking adorable as ever! I hope H sleeps in more than 2 hour increments at night soon!

    I am sure you can’t wait to see Jed! I wouldn’t worry too much about the flight…like you said, she is a baby and people expect them to cry!
    xoxo

  3. She has grown so much! So adorable! I hear that giving babies a dummy helps to pop their ears with the take off and landing. They can’t do it themselves 😦 good luck with the flights! I’m sure it will all work out!

Leave a Reply

