Mommyhood · Travel

7 Week Update

It’s been another busy week for us!

On Monday I had a little bit of a sore throat and being the overly worried and paranoid person (mother) that I am, I got in an appointment with my doctor. I have asthma and allergies and this time of year and spring can be bad for me, so I wanted to make sure I was fine, and if not, at least get under control seeing as I’m taking care of a 7-week old! No infection, so they said it was probably my allergies acting up, which helped us make the next decision – to get a cleaning service for the house while Jed is gone.

Again, I have allergies – to about everything except food and medication. And of course we have dogs and dust and pollen and on and on and on and I don’t need to be cleaning with that stuff around. Usually we’re the “we’ll do it ourselves” type of people, but this came down to health concerns and also time (which I do not have much of anymore). So we went ahead this past week and got a cleaning estimate so we’ll be having them come in every two weeks, which will be so nice. Nice that I don’t have to do it and nice that the house won’t go collecting dust and everything else the dogs tend to bring in with them!

On Wednesday I went to the chiropractor, which I’ve been going back to since having Charlie. I honestly wish I hadn’t of stopped when I was pregnant, but better late than never I guess. When I went in a couple of weeks ago they assessed and adjusted Charlie as well since she has a preference to look to only one side. They specialize in infants and children so we have another appointment on Oct. 2 which will be good because she continues to prefer looking one way and we do not want to get a flat spot! It was kind of funny how they assessed her. They held her upside down! If she looked straight while being held upside down she was fine and wouldn’t need an adjustment, but if she looked to one side, then they knew which side to adjust. Of course she went to the side she prefers so they just made a little adjustment, which is nothing like an adult being adjusted. No cracks or pops, just a little pressure in specific spots. After learning more about chiropractor’s and preventative care, I will definitely be bringing her in when she takes those inevitable spills on the playground while she’s still young enough to prevent any long-term damage that will need to be corrected later on.

On Thursday I took her into the pediatrician for a rash that has been on her head for a few weeks. I had called in and they said it was baby acne, but it seemed to be getting worse and irritating her (itchy) so the paranoid mommy that I am, I wanted to go in and just “make sure”. Well, it was baby acne but they said I could put on some hydrocortisone and aquafor lotion. I hadn’t put anything on it until they confirmed as I didn’t want to irritate it more knowing how sensitive their skin is. While we were at the office they weighed her and she is a growing little girl with a big appetite. She weighed 12 lbs., 15 oz.! I’ll be curious to see how long she is when we go in for her two-month appointment on Oct. 7th.

Throughout the week we try to get out once a day, even if it’s for a short period of time. So we’ll usually go run quick errands and take walks. The weather has been nicer except for a big thunderstorm we had last week that knocked out power for over 39,000 people in Des Moines and took down a lot of trees. I’m not going to lie, I was a little worried when I started hearing the sirens and seeing the 60-70 mph winds because we have tons of trees surrounding our house. A pretty big limb off our neighbors tree fell, so I was keeping a close eye on everything (while Charlie was sleeping). Luckily it died down and we didn’t lose power or any big branches. The dogs were glued to me through the whole thing though as they do not like thunder.

On Saturday we had a surprise party for a close friend, so that was nice to get out and see people. Hopefully our friend was surprised! 🙂 I brought a bottle just in case, but of course when Charlotte decided she was hungry she went from 0-100 in less than a second and I couldn’t find a waiter to bring me warm water to heat it up, so we ended up nursing in the bathroom. I tried giving her the bottle at room temperature, but she was not having ANY of that. It all worked out though.

And Sunday was a big day. Our first road trip up to Minnesota to visit grandma and grandpa for the week! She did so well. She pretty much slept the whole way and probably would have if I hadn’t needed to get gas. We were a little past feeding time when I stopped but she didn’t seem too hungry so I thought “let’s just keep going” instead of actually trying to see if she was hungry. Wrong choice. Ten minutes after getting in the car she started wailing, so I took an exit and gave her a bottle. Of course the exit I took didn’t have an entrance back to the interstate in the direction we needed to go, so I had to back track for about 10 miles. So the lessons I learned was:

1. Make sure you have a full tank of gas.

2. If you stop, see if the baby is hungry so you don’t have to make a wrong turn and extend your trip like I did!

Does anyone have any funny travel stories with baby? Any advice?

We’ll be up in MN for the rest of the week and are ready for lots of fun adventures! Stay tuned to see what we get up to!

3 thoughts on “7 Week Update

    1. Yeah, we ended up swaddling her and putting the hydrocortisone all over her face (so she wouldn’t wipe it off) and it’s been working really well. Not gone, but definitely a lot of improvement. We do it before we put her down for bed. I bought the Aveeno brand. Hope his clears up soon.

Leave a Reply

