Pregnancy

Baby Holl: 39 Weeks

39 Weeks
39 Weeks

I know this little girl will arrive when she’s ready to, but if she’s like me, she’ll be punctual, and if she’s like her father, she’ll be late. But it’s anyone’s guess! If you want to take a guess, take our baby poll!

I had a great birthday filled with lots of well wishes and generous gifts. Jed got me a sewing machine! I know he got the idea when I was trying to figure out our crib skirt situation and I couldn’t be happier. I am so excited to get started. I’ve already looked up easy tutorials for burp clothes, blankets and more (on Pinterest, of course)!

Other than my birthday, this past week hasn’t been too exciting as we’re really just trying to get everything around the house put away and ready for her arrival. We did get a shed for the backyard as all our outdoor items were taking over the garage and starting to filter into the house. So that will be a huge help and it will be nice to keep things a little more organized. Plus, we put it in the corner of our backyard that Tank likes to sit in and bark at people – so this also eliminates that bad behavior.

On that note, we also ordered two anti-bark collars for the dogs. To be honest, they are NOT as bad as most little dogs that I’ve seen, but when they want to be loud, they can be extremely loud! Especially when the mail carrier or someone comes to the door. And that’s just not necessary. I don’t need little Sesame falling asleep only to be woken up immediately by Tank’s shrill bark.

We didn’t even think about this until my brother got one for his dog and he says it works great. Instead of a shock like some collars, this one sprays a safe citronella spray that dogs don’t like. I definitely didn’t want to shock the little guys, so this seems perfect. And hopefully we can eliminate the unnecessary barking before we bring baby home. I’ll let you know how they work when we get them later this week.

A couple of weeks ago my sister-in-law was gracious enough to take some maternity photos for us. And the other night we took a few more at home from different pictures I’ve seen online. Here’s a sampling of the photos.

We had our weekly appointment today, so here’s the update:

Currently: 39 weeks, 4 days

Countdown: 3 days!! But could be anytime.

Sesame’s Size: Still the size of a watermelon: 19-22 in. and 6-9 lbs.

Cravings: I still really want sushi and it’s nice to know I won’t have to wait too much longer now! Other than that, sweets are back at the top of the list as well as spicy food. We went to an indian restaurant for my birthday dinner and it was soooo good.

Weight Gain: About 33 lbs.

Sleep: I think I’m averaging two nightly trips to the bathroom now, so sleep is definitely interrupted, but overall it’s been good. Trying to get as much as I can before she arrives.

Mood: Impatient and excited. It’s so weird to think that it’s almost here and to think about the last nine months, but we are ready to meet this little girl and start bonding with her outside the womb.

Symptoms: Every once in a while I’ll get a sharp pain in my pelvic area, but I think that’s just her moving around down there. I am also running really hot! Sometimes it feels like the furnace is running, but I know that it is (unfortunately) temporary. I’m usually always cold (to the point of using blankets in the summer), so this has been a bit of a change for me.

Looking Forward To: Meeting her and introducing her to all our family and friends. This is the first grandchild on my side of the family so I’m really excited to see my parents with her and watch my brothers become awesome uncles.

Clothes: I cannot wait to get back into non-maternity clothes. I’ve been living in the same few outfits for the past couple of weeks and those are even starting to get a little uncomfortable. Shirts are getting too short and pants are riding up, so it’s nice that the end is near.

Misc. News: When they checked at the doctor’s office, I was 1 cm dilated and measuring at 38 cm (uterus size). So I’m still measuring on the small side, but we have progress! Her due date is this Friday, August 2, but we did schedule an ultrasound and checkup for next Monday morning in case she decides to extend her stay. At that appointment the doctor will discuss with us what they want to do in terms of induction or letting things continue to progress naturally. Again, they won’t let us go a week over her due date, but since my amniotic fluid is on the low-normal side, they scheduled the ultrasound to check measurements again and see what is best.

So who knows, my next post might be her introduction, or it might be our 40-week update. It’s anyone’s guess! So stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “Baby Holl: 39 Weeks

  1. Oh my gosh this is all so very exciting! I can’t believe she will be here soon!

    My husband also got me a sewing machine! Last week in fact. I got a Brother and LOVE it. I have already made burp cloths, bibs, and a pillow case cover. It really isn’t that hard which is great. I am going to attempt to make an infant dress next week. We definitely should share our ideas!
    Here is my pinterest. http://pinterest.com/carincathleen/boards/

    Your maternity pictures are SO cute! I love all of them. I can’t really get over how great you look for being 39 weeks!

  2. I keep thinking… “Katie is next!” So I’ve definitely been keeping a close eye on your blog – hoping to see some serious inactivity soon (because you’ll be too busy giving birth and taking care of your little girl!)

    So excited for you! I’ll definitely been keeping you in my prayers these next few days… best of luck!

    P.S. Very cute maternity pics. Love the last one: “Ready to Pop”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

