Pregnancy · Randomness

Reflection

Reflection

With little Sesame’s pending debut, I thought it would be a great time to stop and reflect on the past 9 months (or so) and share a quick peek into our future plans.

To start off, I still can’t believe I’m pregnant. This has truly been the happiest time in my life, but it was never anything that was planned out long-term. I was never one of those girls that daydreamed about my wedding or thought about when I would have kids and what my future family would be like. Of course I wanted to get married and I knew I wanted kids, but it was never forecasted out and I never knew when it was going to happen.

I am a complete believer that things happen for a reason in their own time. And I think that’s the best way to describe what it’s been like for me through my marriage and this pregnancy. I met my husband in college and we instantly became great friends, but I never would have thought we would get married. We were friends all throughout my college career and didn’t start dating until I had graduated. But now, I can’t see it any other way. It’s so awesome to be married to my best friend! Before we got married, Jed knew that I wanted to have kids. Jed wasn’t opposed to kids, but it was definitely something that he hadn’t really thought about.

We got married in 2010 and wanted to make sure to enjoy our union as two and continue to grow together before introducing a child. Although, we did get our two wonderful little pups, Tank and Dora. We thought that would be a good start to our parenting skills and we’re both huge animal lovers.

After two years of marriage, we started talking about having children and decided we would like to start trying (we weren’t getting any younger!). So it was last fall that we decided to start trying. During this time (with a lot of help and support from Jed) I also made the decision to leave my current position to pursue a freelance writing career. My last day at work was Nov. 15 and I was ready to get started and build my own business from the ground up.

And then it all happened so quickly. I took a couple of home pregnancy tests in late November and they were both positive! I can’t even begin to tell you all the emotions that started to flow through my body when I saw the test results. I would have to describe it as the most exciting and scary moment ever. I had heard that it can take between 6 months – 1 year to conceive, so I was honestly not expecting it to happen that fast. I had just left my current position and barely got my feet on the ground to start working on the freelance gig.

So we called our doctor and set-up our first appointment/ultrasound to confirm. That was on Dec. 21 and we were exactly 8 weeks along. We were truly overjoyed to hear that little heartbeat.

Of course, I was not really planning on starting a business while pregnant, so the first trimester was very difficult because I was sooo tired and had no motivation to do anything. As soon as I hit the second trimester that luckily changed and I got my motivation back and set up my company and started networking.

So in the first 3-4 months, there was a lot of change with my new career decision and finding out we were expecting. Then we got another piece of information that was a total curveball. I’ve mentioned it in previous posts, but my husband works full-time at the 132nd Fighter Wing in Des Moines, IA as a crew chief on the F-16’s. And it was announced in the spring that they were going to shut down the F-16 program and transition to being a drone unit. What! There had been speculation for about a year about shutting down the base or changing the mission, but it was finally official. Everything would change and there wasn’t a lot of information about what the future would hold. Perfect when you’re expecting a child, right? There were so many concerns about what this transition would mean for jobs and when everything would happen, that it has put a lot of stress on everyone out there. I had never seen my husband so worried.

So this unknown situation has been going on for a good 6+ months and they finally started opening jobs in June for the new drone mission. Not many, but some. Things in the government sector can take a long time. So it was excruciating to have to sit without information and not know what to apply for, what to do next, etc. Some of our friends that worked out there left the unit to work on the civilian side, some people have/will transfer to other bases. So it’s a hard decision not knowing what you’re getting into. I am so proud of my husband though through this situation as he has kept his head high this whole time. He has stayed as positive as anyone can and has always kept his perspective to make sure he’s making the best decisions for himself professionally and for us personally.

There were a few positions that opened up in June that he was eligible for, so he applied to all of them. There were a lot of applicants, but I was confident he would get something with his experience and work ethic. But there was no guarantee, and if he didn’t get one of these jobs, we didn’t know when the next openings would be and if he would get any of those. While we were on our baby moon vacation he received the emails for two of the jobs he applied and interviewed for. He didn’t get one, but he got the other!! We were so excited. It was something he wanted to do and it was such a huge relief to know he got the job. We were really hoping we would have his job situation confirmed before little miss arrived and our prayers had been answered.

So in the past 9 months:

1. I left my job and started my own freelance company.

2. Found out we were expecting.

3. Found out Jed would have to transition to a new job without knowing any details about the new mission or when it would all happen.

So what now?

Jed has to be trained in this new position, so he will be leaving in mid-August to head to Texas for five months of training. While this is obviously not ideal with a new baby on the way, it’s probably the best timing as he would have to re-train with any new job and we would rather it be completed sooner rather than later. It’s going to be hard on everyone, but unlike deployments, this is training and he’ll still be in the same timezone, we’ll be able to visit him, he’ll be able to come back weekends and holidays, and with the advancement of technology and things like Facetime and Skype, we’ll be making sure he see’s little Sesame everyday. Plus, unless this little girl is some sort of genius, he won’t miss out on any big milestones like crawling and walking, etc.

So while he goes to training, I am going to be a stay-at-home-mom/freelancer (in that order). The nice thing about freelancing is that I am able to work from home for the most part. Of course, I am not going to be rushing into big projects since I have no idea how tired I’ll be or what our schedule will be like since it will just be me and the baby, so I know not to push it and only take projects once I feel comfortable enough. Once Jed gets back from training, we’ll figure out what I want to do, but for now, I’m completely content and happy with raising our little baby and working on small projects on the side.

This has definitely been a year of change for us, but I know it’s all been for the better and we’ve learned to take things one day at a time instead of trying to plan out our lives. As I said earlier, this has been the happiest time of my life and I thank my husband from the bottom of my heart to allow me to be able to do the things I want. And I know that I have his love and support every step along the way.

4 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. Wow! What an incredible nine months you have had. I am so happy for you and your family. I think everything will be just wonderful. I also think your ability to stay home and work from home is absolutely priceless! xo

  2. I’m so glad everything has fallen into place for your family. I bet that was stressful when things were up in the air about your husband’s job situation. Though having him gone for 5 months when you have a newborn isn’t ideal, it sounds like you guys are going to be JUST FINE since you have a really positive outlook on it! I’m sure you guys are just go grateful that things really came together. Thanks for sharing your journey!

    1. Thank you. I think the only way to get through things is to try to keep a positive outlook and appreciate all the things you do have! Your shower looked so fun and I love the colors – such a cute tie-in to the nursery.

Leave a Reply

