Pregnancy

Baby Holl: 38 Weeks and Still Cooking

38 Weeks
38 Weeks

So the Royal Baby has finally arrived and to be honest, I thought it was going to be a girl. And the only thing that I wanted to know if it was, was what her name was going to be. Now that we’re so close to delivering, I’ve been super paranoid about someone having a baby girl and taking our name! Such a weird thing to fixate on, but I’m pretty sure we’re in the clear now. And no, we’re still not announcing it until she arrives!

This past week has been pretty uneventful. Jed had a “guy’s day” on Saturday while I worked on the baby book and other things around the house . . . like starting to pack the hospital bag. They say to have it packed about three weeks before due date, but I’m a little behind. Mostly because I use so many of the items we need to pack. I did buy travel size toiletries like shampoo/conditioner, deodorant, toothpaste, mouthwash and lotion so that I could pack them and not lug around our regular size bottles.

I’m hoping to get the rest of it packed in the next couple of days. I did make sure to pick up snacks to have before we go to the hospital and also snacks for after delivery and for Jed. We also installed the car seat and I’ve “practiced” putting in the carrier and taking it out.

We hung up the mirror/display this weekend, so here’s a final picture of it up in the nursery. It’ll be fun to see her watch herself in the mirror.

Mirror Display
Mirror Display
Mirror Display
Mirror Display

I also noted earlier that I was working on our baby book. I decided to make/scrapbook our own so that I could add pages as I wanted. Here’s a couple of pictures of some of the pages thus far. I still need to fill out some of the pages as well as get some fun embellishments/decorations to complement the pages. And I still need to decorate the cover.

Yesterday we had two appointments for baby. The first was an ultrasound that was scheduled at our last doctor’s visit. We were surprised that we were having another ultrasound, but were really excited to see her again. I initially thought they just wanted to check out everything to make sure we’re good to deliver (that the placenta wasn’t blocking anything or the umbilical cord was fine). When we went in yesterday morning they gave us more information on why we needed the ultrasound. Apparently I have been measuring small (my uterus size) so they wanted to make sure everything was okay in there. They said when you measure small it could be one of three reasons: 1). Could be nothing, 2). Could be low amniotic fluid, which would be a concern, and 3). the baby could be very small and they want to make sure they are getting what they need.

So the main reason we were there was to check the amount of amniotic fluid there is and to check her size. They measured the amniotic fluid from four different areas of the uterus and measured twice (just to be sure). Luckily it was normal, albeit on the low side, but nothing to be concerned about.

Our second appointment was our regular, weekly check-up. The doctor told us the same information – that the fluid is on the low side, but not abnormal, so we are going to continue with our weekly appointments. The doctor noted that she is in the 35th percentile. So again, on the small side, but nothing to worry about. They did estimate her weight, but I’m not going to say what it is because we still have our baby poll going on. Have you taken it yet? You better hurry up as there’s not too much time left.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get to see too much of her during the ultrasound because she’s so squished in there and because she has dropped so her head is pretty much in my pelvis and becoming best buddies with my bladder. But it’s exciting to know that in a couple short weeks we’ll actually be holding her!

Lastly, I did get out and get a pedicure yesterday with one of my best friend’s (who’s birthday was yesterday). She’s due November 4th, which is so exciting in general, but even more exciting because they are also having a girl! So our girls will be about three months apart and we only live two blocks from each other! I was definitely in need of a pedicure now that I can’t really reach my toes and not knowing when this bundle is going to arrive, I figured I needed to get one soon!

Here’s the weekly update:

Currently: 38 weeks, 4 days

Countdown: 1 week, 3 days

Sesame’s Size: Still the size of a watermelon: 19-22 in. and 7 lbs.

Cravings: Pretty much everything. Spicy food, sweets, fruit, cereal, string cheese, and on and on and on.

Weight Gain: 31.9 lbs. according to the doctor’s scale.

Sleep: My pillow fortress definitely helps me sleep at night. For the most part it’s been getting better, but every couple of nights I do have heartburn, so I just keep my dear friends, Tums, close by.

Mood: Super anxious and excited! And a little impatient. We cannot wait to meet this little girl and every day we get a little closer. I can understand why women at this point in their pregnancy want to have contractions – we’re definitely as ready as we’re going to be.

Symptoms: My feet still swell if I’ve been on them, but I make sure to keep them up as much as I can. Jed is awesome at foot massages. The heartburn comes and goes, mostly at night. Definitely more emotional. Those hormones are in overdrive. As we near this life-changing event I get more and more nostalgic.

Looking Forward To: My birthday! Tomorrow is my birthday (and commences my last year in my twenties!). When we found out we were pregnant and they told us the due date, I instantly thought about my birthday and then realized that my daughter and I could potentially share a birthday. I know it is very selfish of me to say this, but I want her to have her own special birthday and I would like to keep mine. Even if her’s is the day after mine. Does that make me a bad mother? Of course, if she decides to make an early appearance on my birthday, it would be the best gift I could ever receive!

Clothes: Still nothing new in the clothes department. I am excited to get back into somewhat normal, non-maternity clothing.

Misc. News: Still no stretch marks yet and still wearing my wedding ring. Baby is moving around a lot even though she doesn’t have any more room!

We’re back to the doctor’s next Monday morning for hopefully our last appointment so make sure to take our baby poll soon!

And stay tuned for more posts this week as I start to really reflect on the past 9 months of pregnancy.

9 thoughts on “Baby Holl: 38 Weeks and Still Cooking

  1. Happy Birthday!!! And good for you for getting a much needed pedicure… now your toes will look great for delivery 🙂

    I’ve been so worried about my baby being small too… but we had our ultrasound yesterday and he’s measuring in the 50th percentile. So that’s good! A friend of mine did say to me “a healthy baby is a healthy baby” and told me not to concern myself to much about the baby being small, because actually, there are WAY more concerns with babies who are too big.

    You are so very close now! I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to see a picture of your little princess. Best Wishes to you!

    1. Thank you Becky! You’re so close too, I can’t wait to see your little guy and your nursery looks great! We also put up a hook for clothing, but I like your idea of the key holder better so there’s more hooks. May need to upgrade ours.

    1. Thank you! I definitely spent way more time than I ever intended on it, and of course in my mind it’s never really going to be done. But it’s been fun to put together.

  2. Happy Birthday tomorrow! I totally understand why you wouldn’t want to share birthdays. My husband and his daughter’s are one day apart and his is ALWAYS totally trumped by hers. I try really hard to make them separate but somehow her parties and events always fall on his birthday!

    I am also extremely paranoid about someone having the same girl name as us! We have ours picked out finally and I even got a few things monogrammed. I guess if it is just one of us blog girls it’s not a big deal…but I totally am worrying about it too.

    I just LOVE your nursery. So many personal touches that you made. Also, the baby book is great! I am a big time scrapbooker and you did a fabulous job!

    So close! I can’t wait to see pictures of your little princess.
    xo

    1. Thank you! We can’t wait to meet her – I am getting really impatient.

      And I really hope we don’t take your girl name. I’m excited to find out what your’s is.

  3. Happy belated birthday! I am a little late reading everyone’s blog posts this week since I’ve been traveling. Hope you had wonderful day of celebrating! And sounds like you get to keep your birthday your own.

Leave a Reply

