Pregnancy

The Best Baby Shower

As I mentioned in my weekly update post, my baby shower was this past weekend. And I cannot even begin to tell you how blessed I feel to have such wonderful family and friends. The shower was beautiful and it was amazing to be surrounded by such caring and supportive people.

We had quite the turnout. My parents and younger brother came down from Minnesota. All of my sister-in-laws (all seven of them) were able to come to the shower, as well as Jed’s cousin, aunts and uncles from Nebraska! Our cousins from Nebraska are expecting their third in late July so it will be exciting to have our kids so close in age. And of course I also had many old and new friends attend the shower.

Other than the invitation, which my friend Jami designed, I was given no details about the shower until I arrived. My husband thought this was funny because I’m a planner and I like knowing the details and helping out. But it was really nice to have it be a surprise and it took my breath away when I saw everything.

The shower was hosted at our friend Sarah’s house and my mom and sister-in-law Hannah put all the details together. I definitely got my party planning gene from my mom! If I had to describe the shower in three words, it would be simple, elegant and classic.

We had a delicious spread of food which included a variation of sandwich roll-ups, strawberries, pineapple, and of course – cake! The cakes were adorable and delicious. They were little blocks and as you will see in one of the photos, they had a set that spelled out Baby Holl. A lot of people were asking where they were made and unfortunately for those in Des Moines, you won’t find the bakery here. My mom brought them down from Wuollet’s Bakery in Minnesota. They also made the party favors which were Oreo’s in white chocolate – another big hit. For drinks we had raspberry tea, cucumber water and both alcoholic and non-alcoholic mimosa’s.

The balloons were weighted down with two little picture holders, which I thought was a really neat idea. There was a duck and a little pair of shoes. We did play one game. Everyone that attended the shower got to pick a diaper pin. If you said the word “baby”, someone could take your pin. The object was to get the most pins by the end of the shower. So you wanted to try to get people to say “baby” so you could take their pin. The winner received a box of chocolates from a Chocolaterie Stam.

There were a lot of surprises, but one that really caught me was that my parents cleaned up and brought down my pink carriage from when I was little! I almost forgot we still had it and now I can give it to little Sesame. I’ve decided to use it in her nursery to keep all her stuffed animals in. I’m sure she’ll get a lot of use out of it. I know I did.

Everyone was so generous with gifts and while I would love to show everything we received, that would be a lot of photos (and I don’t look so attractive in some of them). So I picked out some to share that were a little more unique. We did get lots of cute clothes, books, socks, a diaper bag, toys, bows, bottles and accessories, hats and much more. The last few photos in the gallery below are of the updated nursery. We still have a little ways to go, but it’s getting there and it’s hard to believe in only a few shorts weeks she’ll be here!

I do want to end this post with a huge THANK YOU to everyone who was able to attend my baby shower as well as everyone that has supported us along this wonderful new journey. Jed and I are truly blessed and we’re excited to be sharing this joyous new adventure with you.

Now it’s time for a short vacation to the lake before we’re a family of three!

5 thoughts on “The Best Baby Shower

  1. Wow! That really is the cutest shower! Your family and friends did a great job. How neat to have something from your childhood in your little girl’s room! I also love your dress. You are looking fabulous as always!

Leave a Reply

