Pregnancy

Baby Holl: 33 Weeks – Busy, Busy, Busy

33 Weeks
33 Weeks

I can’t believe I’m still standing! This past week has been super busy, but so fun! I will probably be posting a lot more this week just to cover all the activities from this past weekend. On Saturday alone we had Jed’s man-shower/low-boil, my baby shower as well as a small surprise cake party for one of my sister-in-law’s upcoming 30th birthday! I was exhausted come Saturday night.

But everything went well – even the weather managed to cooperate. Although it did storm Friday evening, which didn’t help with setting up the patio for the low-boil Saturday morning.

We had a lot of family in town for the festivities, which was so nice. I love spending time with our families and catching up, especially since there are so many and sometimes it’s hard to keep track of everyone.

I’ll post separately about the baby shower, but I wanted to share some photos from the low-boil. From what I heard about it, it was a great time. I was able to attend for a little while before I needed to head out to my baby shower. One of the guys that Jed works with brought over a game that was the hit of the party – hammerschlagen. For such a simple game, it is very entertaining.

Hammerschlagen
Hammerschlagen

Here’s Jed dishing out the low-boil. We had corn, crab, kielbasa sausage, potatoes and shrimp in it. Tank (one of our dogs) managed to steal a crab leg from a plate! We also had hamburgers and brats.

Low-Boil
Low-Boil

We ended up with probably 25 packs of diapers from the diaper raffle and had some pretty hilarious prizes we gave out to winners. The first winner received a $25 Visa Gift Card, but we also gave out funny prizes like old VHS tapes, a water bottle, a dodgeball and so forth. It was a great way for us to get rid of some of our “what do we do with this” stuff.

I’m so glad my family was in town so I could celebrate Father’s Day with my dad and Jed. I picked up a few items for Jed for his first Father’s Day. The items I got were a little onesie that says “Daddy’s Little Cupcake”; an Iowa Cubs T-Shirt so they can go to the games together; a father-daughter matching outfit (Jed wears a lot of plain t-shirts and camoflauge shorts he makes from old uniforms) so I thought it would be cute if they had matching outfits; and lastly a handbook for first-time dads. The book is hilarious with drawings and funny humor about raising a kid. Seemed perfect for Jed (we’ll see if he references it).

Father's Day Gifts
Father’s Day Gifts

Last Friday we also received a call that our glider was in and ready to be picked up. Of course it came in the one weekend we have everything else going on! We ended up picking it up yesterday. I love this chair because it’s not very wide, but it’s tall so both Jed and I can rest our heads on it. Right now it’s in the nursery, but we might bring it upstairs to our room so I have somewhere to sit while nursing since she’ll be upstairs with us in a cradle for the first few weeks. But now we have all of our furniture – so that’s exciting! Now we just have to clean and organize the room as it looks like a hurricane hit it from bringing in all the baby shower gifts, diapers and decorations from the shower.

Nursery Glider
Nursery Glider

Last night was also our last prenatal class. We reviewed everything from the past four classes and the last half hour of the class was a tour of the birthing units and maternity ward, which was nice. For anyone who is debating whether to take these types of classes or not, I would highly recommend it. While some of the information was typical of what you would find on the internet or in books, we had a lot of our other, specific questions answered and a lot of our fears/concerns debunked. Now all we have to do is wait!

Here’s the weekly update:

Currently: 33 weeks, 4 days

Countdown: 6 weeks, 3 days

Sesame’s Size: The size of a pineapple – 19 in. and 4.9 lbs.

Cravings: I feel like my appetite is under control again. Of course I’m still craving those things I can’t have, mostly sushi. What I wouldn’t give  for a spicy tuna roll.

Weight Gain: About 25 lbs.

Sleep: I’ve still been sleeping really well, maybe only having to get up once to go to the bathroom. The one thing I have noticed though (except for today) is that I wake up really fast. Usually it takes me awhile to fully wake up, but lately it’s been quite the opposite and as soon as my eyes open, I’m wide awake and ready to go.

Mood: Excited, anxious and a little nervous. I’m excited that we’re getting closer, but it also makes me a little anxious and nervous of the unknown. I know it will all be fine, but it’s a huge physical event that’s coming up as well as a complete lifestyle change for us. Who wouldn’t be a little nervous about that?!

Symptoms: My back is better, but I still get aches regularly. My feet have been so sore the past couple of days, but I think that’s just because I’ve been on them all weekend. Luckily they aren’t swollen or anything, just sore.

Looking Forward To: Going up to the lake this week for our last vacation before we’re a family of three (and two dogs). It’s so peaceful and tranquil up there and I’m looking forward to being able to sit on the deck, take walks, go boating and just take it all in and relax.

Clothes: Still nothing new here. Hoping I can hold out until she’s born, but I do need to get some of the items for after she’s born such as nursing tanks/tops as well as figure out what I’m going to bring to the hospital for me to wear during labor and afterwards.

Misc. News: Little Sesame seems to get the hiccups quite a bit. It seems like she gets them at least once a day. She’s also been stretching a lot in there. I tend to get an elbow or foot in my left side that sort of pokes out. She’s also found my rib cage. Her kicking/punching them doesn’t hurt (yet), but they are sore from what I can only suspect is the changes in my body and making more room for her. I find myself massaging them more lately to try to relieve aches.

Stay tuned for an update and photos from the baby shower and our upcoming travels to the lake!

8 thoughts on “Baby Holl: 33 Weeks – Busy, Busy, Busy

  1. I bought the same book for my husband for Father’s Day! He loves it… he’s always showing me something or another that he’s found funny. I also gave him a set of Pee-pee Teepees (to use with our little guy) – haha! Have you seen those before?

    1. That’s so funny that you got the same book! I’ll probably end up reading it before Jed and showing him everything I think is funny.

      I have heard of the pee-pee teepees from friends that have had boys – and I’ve heard they are awesome for those little surprises! I guess that’s one thing we won’t have to worry about 😉

  2. Such a cute father’s day gift! You are so creative! Glad to see you are doing so well. Getting so close!

Leave a Reply

