Look What I Can Do · Pregnancy

Craft Project: A Few Words From The Heart

Happy Thursday!

Today I am sharing the latest craft project for little Sesame’s nursery! It shouldn’t surprise you that I also found this idea on Pinterest. I could seriously spend hours on this site!

Anyway. Here’s how I re-created this cute, mostly simple project.

The Materials:

1. Frame. I picked up this 8 x 10 frame at the local Goodwill for $1.99. I wanted something that was unique and a little ornate. Since it’s garage sale season, you could also pick one up there or maybe you have one lying around the house.
2. Paint. Gold wasn’t quite the color I was looking for, so I used Martha Stewart’s satin paint in Pink Carnation. You could also use spray paint as that would probably cover better, but be careful of drips.
3. Book. I decided to pick up a used thesaurus from Half Price Books to use because I knew there would be more word options to select from. I think it was around $5, but I intend to continue to use it for other projects, so I’ll get my money’s worth. You could also use a dictionary or other book from around the house that you don’t mind cutting up.
4. Heart Punch. This was the most expensive item I had to pick up – I believe it was $9. But this will be very versatile for other projects in the future.
5. Adhesive. You will also need glue or some sort of adhesive.

Heart Project Materials
Heart Project Materials

The Steps:

1. First, clean the picture frame and paint. I ended up using three coats of paint for mine. Again, spray paint may cover better if you have it in the color you want.

Painted Picture Frame
Painted Picture Frame

2. Select the phrase, saying or quote you want to use and cut out from your book. We chose the following for our little girl:

“She is clothed in strength and dignity and she laughs without fear of the future.” – Proverbs 31:25

NOTE: Even with a thesaurus, it was difficult to find the word “laughs”. So we ended up changing it slightly to say “She is clothed in strength and dignity and she will laugh without fear of the future”. I wanted to make sure all the words were from the same book so they would be the same size and since the thesaurus didn’t have “laughs”, and I wasn’t willing to spend hours skimming for it (other than in the obvious places), we decided to change.

Heart Cut-Outs
Heart Cut-Outs

3. Layout all the words within your frame and glue down. I ended up using photo stickers instead of glue so that the glue wouldn’t bleed through the thin paper. It was also easy to pick them up and adjust if I didn’t place them straight the first time :). I also added a pink heart at the bottom for some extra color.

The Finished Project

Finished Project
Finished Project

In The Nursery:

A Few Words From The Heart
A Few Words From The Heart

That’s it! It is a really simple project – if you can find the words you’re looking for easily!

Do you have any fun and simple projects you’d like to share? I’d love to hear about them.

2 thoughts on “Craft Project: A Few Words From The Heart

Leave a Reply

