Look What I Can Do · Pregnancy

Craft Project: Home Is Where The Heart Is

I’ve mentioned a couple of times in previous posts that I have been working on some artwork for the nursery. And today is the day I get to show it to you! I wanted to have something in the room that represented where little Sesame is from (Des Moines, Iowa). My inspiration for this project was this post I found on Pinterest. So here was my attempt at re-creating this fun idea.

The Materials:

1. A board. The size depends on how big you want it. We had extra lumber sitting around in the basement so I had my husband cut this down to 15.75″ x 11.25″.
2. State outline/template. My husband received an award and it made the perfect outline of the state that I needed. You can also just print off an outline of the state and cut it out to use as your outline.
3. Paint. I used two colors – one for the base color and one for the heart. Again, this is up to you on whether you want to color in the heart or not.
4. Hammer and nails. Make sure that the nail heads are large enough that you can wrap string around them without the string coming loose over the head. I picked mine up at Wal-mart.
5. Crochet thread. I also picked this up at Wal-mart and it’s nice because it’s sturdy enough that it won’t fray, but still pretty thin to get around the nail heads.

Materials
Materials

The Steps:

1. The first step is painting the base color on the board.
2. Once dry, take your state template and lightly trace the state outline in the center of the board with a pencil. Then trace or draw a heart over your hometown.
3. Next, paint the heart if you want to have it as another color. Otherwise, move on to step 4.
4. Starting hammering in the nails along the state and heart outlines. The nails on mine ended up being about .25″ apart so that they were close enough to create a nice outline, but had room for the string to get around them. This will depend on the size of nails you get, so just keep an eye on it and try to keep it as consistent as possible.
5. Once the outlines are complete with the hammered nails, count how many nails are in the state outline and how many are in the heart. This will help you determine how many times you’ll wrap the string around one heart nail (since there are less) before moving onto the next to make it even. For example, I had 104 nails in the state outline and 14 nails in the heart outline, so 104/14 ~ 7.5. So what I did was wrap one heart nail 7 times and then the next heart nail 8 times and so forth. You only wrap the state outline nails once so after 7 or 8 outside nails, I would switch which heart nail I was wrapping around. Have I confused you yet? Again, keep an eye on it and adjust as needed while threading.

The Process
The Process

The Finished Project

Home Is Where The Heart Is
Home Is Where The Heart Is

I think it turned out well considering there weren’t steps for me to follow. I can’t remember exactly how much the nails and crochet thread cost, but those were the only two items I had to purchase and I know they were under $10 together, so I consider that a success. I did have to do a little bit of touch-up around the heart as that was probably the most difficult part because it was so small. I had to re-paint two small sections where I took out some nails. It took me a long time to get started on the hammering part since I was so nervous about messing up and not wanting to have to find a new board and starting over from scratch, so my recommendation is to take it slow once you start hammering. Once I got going, it only took about an hour to get all the nails in and the threading takes about 5 minutes, so it’s a pretty quick project to do once you get going.

I have a few more projects planned for the nursery that I’ll make sure to share. How are you decorating your nurseries? Any fun projects out there you’d like to share?

4 thoughts on “Craft Project: Home Is Where The Heart Is

  1. Wow this turned out great! What a special piece of artwork that you made for your baby. This is also great since it is something she can keep forever.

Leave a Reply

