Pregnancy

Baby Holl: 31 Weeks – Nursery Update!

31 Weeks
31 Weeks

This past week has definitely made up for the uneventful one last week. We’ve been so busy and I don’t see a break in the near future. The most exciting news – we got a call on Saturday stating that our furniture would be ready to pick up on Monday! I cannot tell you how excited we were for this news.

But before I get into the furniture (I know, it’s a tease), a quick recap on the rest of last week.

On Saturday we attended Family Day out at the 132nd Fighter Wing (where Jed works). It was a great event, but one that was more focused on those families that have kids and/or family close by to attend. We had fun catching up with friends, but since we don’t have any children (yet) and there wasn’t much for adults to do, we headed home a little early. It also got really cold and windy, so a warm house was very inviting.

We also had our third prenatal class last night. I will say that they are really informative and have helped answer a LOT of questions we have, but last night’s class about the active labor and transitional period during labor kind of freaked me out a little bit. It wasn’t one specific thing, but all the talk about pain medications made me think about how much pain this could be. I know it will be painful, but I also know that everyone has a different pain threshold and now I’m wondering what mine will be. On the positive side, it was really great information about the pros and cons to each type of medication and how it all works. So that’s another question checked off our list.

So now to the furniture!

Thankfully the weather yesterday was perfect for picking up the furniture. Our weather here has been really depressing and the rest of the week has rain in the forecast. Anyways, we were lucky that one of our friend’s had called Jed to see what he was up to and (unfortunately for him) helped us move in the furniture and put the crib together. Here’s a few photos of the guys at work.

Moving in the Dresser
Moving in the Dresser

Funny Note: They were both wearing the same thing (unplanned), which made them look like official movers (except for the sandals). Maybe a future side business?

Here’s some photos of the guys putting together the crib. Beer = better building. Dora wanted to be a part of the action as well so we let her inspect the crib once complete. She approves.

Building The Crib
Building The Crib

And here’s the room all set-up. The first image is looking in from the doorway. Then there’s a picture of each piece of furniture – the crib, a 5-drawer chest and a 3-drawer chest that we’ll also be using as a changing table. I am not a professional photographer, so the lighting is off and since we don’t have any sun out, I can’t get nice pictures.

The Nursery Furniture
The Nursery Furniture

We’re so excited to continue working on the nursery now and playing around with the placement of everything. We are still waiting for a glider chair to come in, so we’ll have that to place in the room as well. I did end up calling Pottery Barn Kids and a design consultant is coming out this Thursday to talk about bedding, so I should probably go get our mattress soon 🙂

Here’s the weekly update:

Currently: 31 weeks, 4 days

Countdown: 8 weeks, 3 days

Sesame’s Size: Still the size of a head of lettuce, but is apparently now 19 in. and 3.9 lbs.

Cravings: Everything still. Fruit, sweets, cookies, candy. You name it, I’ll probably eat it.

Weight Gain: About 24 lbs. (I think?) My scale is a little weird so we’ll have a more accurate reading at our next appointment on Monday.

Sleep: Sleeping well and through the night except for the occasional need to get up to use the bathroom. I’ve “joked” with Jed that we may need to switch spots in bed so I can be closer to the bathroom since I feel this will start to become more routine in the coming weeks.

Mood: Ecstatic. So excited we have our furniture and can continue working on the nursery. Now if the weather could only remember that it’s summer and not spring anymore and STOP RAINING!!!

Symptoms: Back aches are definitely leading the charge in this department. There’s one particular spot on my right side in the middle of my back that hurts like nothing else. I’m wondering if it’s my purse (I have an over the shoulder I wear on my left shoulder) and the way I’m sitting. I really hope this all goes away soon.

Looking Forward To: The baby shower and working on the nursery.

Clothes: Same old, same old with the clothes. I need to figure out what I’m going to wear to my baby shower.

Misc. News: Knock on wood, still no stretch marks. Granted I still have 8.5 weeks to go, but here’s to hoping I don’t get any (or many).

I have tons more things to post about, but will save you all the time and post more throughout the week. We’re off the breastfeeding class – should be interesting.

P.S. – Big THANK YOU to our friend Zach for helping with the furniture. If the crib breaks with our daughter in it, I’m blaming you.

6 thoughts on “Baby Holl: 31 Weeks – Nursery Update!

  1. I love the nursery! I am totally obsessed with white furniture for a girl. Looking awesome as usual!

  2. What an adorable little room! So good to hear that you were finally able to get your furniture. Yay!

    We had our 1st birth class just last night and I agree with you… all that information kind of made me nervous! The talk about episiotomies nearly made me sick to my stomach. Yikes.

    Also, I definitely think you should switch sides with your husband. I switched with mine during the 1st trimester because of the bathroom trips and the early morning sickness!

  3. Looking great! Also the nursery looks fab:) I absolutely love that light fixture….I might have to steal that idea. Hoping your rainy weather lets up soon so you can enjoy some summer sun!

Leave a Reply

