Pregnancy

Baby Holl: 28 Weeks

28 Weeks
28 Weeks

I know Mother’s Day was on Sunday, but since that’s when I wrote the board, I’m counting it! It’s amazing to think that we’ll have a little one crawling around next Mother’s Day.

We have been pretty busy this past week. On Saturday we took a little road trip up to Osage, Iowa for a swap meet. A friend of Jed’s invited us up and since we had never been to one we thought it would be fun to go on a little adventure. I had no idea what I was in for. I guess there was a little plan ahead of time to get some animals for a friend/co-worker of Jed’s that lives on a few acres outside of town. I didn’t realize that we were going to be the transporter’s of the animals. A swap meet is basically like a flea market where people can barter and buy used items. The big difference is that at a swap meet (at least this one), you could also buy animals and even cars.

From the swap meet we ended up getting two goats, four chickens and a rooster. We also got ten newly hatched chicks from Jed’s friend to take as well. So we literally had a traveling barnyard in our truck on Saturday!

Goat Pen
Goat Pen

After getting all the animals packed up in the truck, we headed to Jed’s co-workers house where we met up with some friends to start constructing a pen for the goats. Luckily, their friend already had a chicken coop built on the property. I must admit, I was very impressed with how well they put up the pen. They even added a shelter/play pen out of pallets for the goats. The fencing will eventually need to be replaced with something the goats won’t chew through, but it’s good for now since they’re small. I was also surprised at how tame they were. I let them out to graze and get some water (while the guys were building the pen) and they just followed me around. I already felt like a little momma!

I was pretty tired the rest of the day since we had to get up early to get to Osage for the swap meet. The rest of the weekend we spent cleaning the yard, which is starting to actually look good thanks to Jed. He also took me out for my first Mother’s Day brunch on Sunday.

Yesterday was our first of five prenatal classes at the hospital. Each class is two hours long and will help prepare us for little Sesame’s arrival. I’m so glad we signed up for these as I already learned things I didn’t know – like that you’re not supposed to massage calf muscles in case of blood clots. I think my favorite part though was that Jed’s homework is giving me daily massages. I can deal with that 🙂 So now we have to start thinking about our birth plan and writing it out for when that special time comes. We’re also starting to look for pediatricians as we’ll need to visit the offices and conduct interviews to find a good doctor for little miss.  If you live in the Des Moines area and have recommendations, I am all ears! I did find this article on finding the right pediatrician that I will be referring to during this process.

Weekly update:

Currently: 28 weeks, 4 days

Countdown: 11 weeks, 3 days

Sesame’s Size: She is the size of a small cabbage and is supposedly 17 in. and 2.9 lbs. It’s hard to believe she’s that long in my tummy. But I know she’s all curled up.

Cravings: Everything that’s bad. Marshmallows is a new one. Still have the usual ice cream cravings and fruit is still on the list as well.

Weight Gain: 19 lbs. so far.

Sleep: It’s starting to get a little uncomfortable to sleep at night – mostly because some of my congestion has come back. Turning over is a little more work as well.

Mood: Happy, excited, but a little impatient. I really wish we had our furniture because I want to continue working on the nursery, but finding it hard to do without the furniture. I’m hoping the crib comes in by the end of the month. The dressers should come in early June, but I know I’m not going to want to be decorating and moving things come late June/early July.

Symptoms: I had some pretty bad heartburn on Saturday afternoon, but haven’t had it since. As I mentioned above, my congestion is back. The changing season and my being allergic to almost everything probably isn’t helping. My bladder also feels like it shrunk about 90% over the last week. It seems like every time I get up I need to go! So I guess I need to start being more conscious of where bathrooms are located as we go out.

Looking Forward To: Continuing our prenatal classes and summer weather!!! I think summer has finally arrived (judging by the 90 degree weather outside today).

Clothes: I’m glad I picked up those shorts the other week. Definitely coming in handy. I haven’t gotten anything else and hope I don’t need to get too much more before she’s born. I’m waiting to get nursing tanks and such until I’m closer to delivery since I’ve heard you grow a little more on top in that last month. Not looking forward to that.

Misc. News: We had our doctor’s appointment today and they told us that now’s the time to start counting the kicks. Each day I will take an hour (probably after a meal) and count how many movements she has. After ten kicks I can stop counting. It’s just to make sure there is daily activity in that oven. It shouldn’t be a problem for us since she is a very active little girl. Her movement is now more consistent throughout the day, which is kind of fun. Some of her kicks are getting strong. Nothing that hurts yet, but I could see how in a month or two they could, especially when you’re not expecting it.

So that’s our week 28 update. I’d love to hear if you have any advice on finding a pediatrician. Any specific questions I should ask?

4 thoughts on “Baby Holl: 28 Weeks

Leave a Reply

