Pregnancy

Baby Holl: 23 Weeks

23 Weeks
23 Weeks

I almost didn’t post a picture with me in it this week because I’ve been sick the past couple of days. But as you can see I posted one since I did commit to doing this from here on out for the rest of our pregnancy.

It’s been a pretty quiet week, especially since I came down with whatever it is I have. I was afraid it might be strep throat since that’s been going around, so I went to the doctor and had them do a strep test. The test came back negative and they said its an acute upper respiratory viral infection, but it’s really just a little sore throat, ear aches and constant runny nose/congestion. There is the possibility this viral thing could get worse (turn into bronchitis), but thankfully I feel like I’m on the mend. Since it’s viral, they didn’t give me any medicine as it just needs to run its course. As much as it’s uncomfortable, I’m glad I’m not on antibiotics with the baby.

We’re still waiting for the rug for the nursery. Hoping it comes this week, but not going to hold our breath.

On a more positive note, I’ve started looking at items for our registry and asking all the mothers I know what they recommend. I’m always looking for recommendations on items for the registry so if you have any, please send them my way! I’m trying to figure out what items out there are a “need”, a “nice-to-have” and a “not necessary”. What are some of the items you couldn’t live without? What wasn’t helpful or needed?

I did find this awesome website for creating our registry; it’s call Babylist. It’s a universal registry (as long as you can find the items online) so you don’t have to create individual ones at each store. Plus, you can add unique items from sites like Etsy and other boutiques. It’s also nice because it allows people to see what you want, but let them decide where to get it from. It will list multiple places the items are available and the pricing at each. The only difficult part about this for me is that I like going in and seeing the products. But I did read that if you have a registry at a store, you can email it to Babylist and they will transfer to your online registry. So technically, you could go to a store and create one and then send to Babylist. But you have to make sure to delete the store registry once you add to Babylist so you don’t have duplicates.

Baby Sesame is doing well. I feel her about every day now. She’s most active at night and in the morning. I think the weirdest part is that I can now see my tummy move when she’s wriggling around in there.

She also got her first taste of Snookie’s ice cream! If you’re not from around Des Moines, Snookie’s is a small, local malt shop that has the best ice cream. And apparently the only place that has twist cones anymore (which is my favorite). Since it was gorgeous out yesterday (79 degrees), we decided to take a walk with the pups to get our first Snookie’s of the summer. I’m proud the dogs made it that far and they were excited to get free puppy cones (which disappeared quickly).

But on to the details for this week.

Currently: 23 weeks, 4 days

Cravings: Ice cream! Not sure if that’s because Snookie’s opened this past Saturday or not, but definitely craving the ice cream.

Weight Gain: At about 14 lbs. overall.

Sleep: Not sleeping too well this week, but I know that’s due to being sick. Might have to get a few naps in here and there to boost that energy level.

Mood: Happy about baby and all the movement. Frustrated that I’m sick. I thought this was going to be my first winter without getting sick, but that didn’t happen. It could be worse though.

Symptoms: Everything I listed in the beginning (again, due to illness). Congestion, runny nose, a little bit of a sore throat and ear aches. I did get a little heartburn the other night that came on suddenly, but it went away quickly.

Looking Forward To: Getting the registry going. Hopefully we can also get our garden area cleaned out soon to get that started as well (it the weather permits).

Clothes: Rocking the maternity clothes and starting to look online for maternity swimsuits. Not very thrilled about that. The weather has started to warm up so it’s probably time to see which dresses I have that may still fit with this bump.

Misc. News: I’m a little paranoid about getting stretch marks so I’ve been trying to be very diligent about using lotions to keep moisturized. I know everyone gets them at different times and some don’t get them until the very end (or at all; those lucky ducks) so I’m hoping I can keep them at bay as long as possible.

That’s it for week 23. Hopefully the rug comes this week and I have pictures to show next week. In the meantime, I’m going to get working on the registry so send me your recommendations!

5 thoughts on “Baby Holl: 23 Weeks

  1. Congratulations! I just found your blog and we’re just a few days apart. If you find any maternity swim suits online, let me know, I’m also about to start looking! Oh, and by the way, coconut oil is amazing, makes your skin feel so good after. I keep an ice cube tray in the fridge, so I can just take a cube out after showering.
    Looking forward to following your blog, hope your pregnancy goes well!

    1. Hello and congratulations to you, too! So far I’ve been looking at Destination Maternity online for swimsuits and I’ve liked the ones from A Pea in the Pod. Thanks for the coconut oil tip. That will definitely come in handy for the hot summer days.

  2. Congratulations. You look fantastic, I like it when future mothers go on looking good throughout their pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

