Pregnancy

Baby Holl: 21 Weeks

21 Weeks
21 Weeks

Start singing Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ On A Prayer” in your head (or out load) when you read the board. Now that song will stay in your head for at least the next 10 minutes. You’re welcome.

Anyways, it’s true. We’re over the midway point of the pregnancy and that’s a little weird to wrap our heads around. I feel like it’s been going fast and slow at the same time. I’m sure it will start to go even faster, so I know we need to enjoy this time now.

We’re still getting used to calling our little bundle of joy “she” or “her” now that we know. But mostly we’re still calling her Sesame.

This past week has been exciting thinking about all the things to start working on. The top of the list is the nursery. We took a weekend trip up to Minnesota to visit the Goerne side of the family (which worked out nice as my younger brother, Kevin, was home for spring break). We thought it would be fun to do some nursery shopping up in the Twin Cities where there are a few more stores to check out. We were mainly looking for rugs, light fixtures and chairs.

And let me tell you. There are WAY too many choices out there! I can tend to make things more complicated than they need to be (just ask my husband), but for some reason, this whole looking for a rug thing turned into more than I expected. I think the difficult part was first trying to figure out the right size for the room. Our room is square, so we could go with pretty much any shape – round, rectangle, square, etc. But then it came down to what size would work best within those shapes. And of course all the rugs I liked did not come in the sizes we were looking for. Then you get into colors, patterns, fabrics and so forth. Since we have two dogs (and one who particularly likes to pull on thread), we have to take their behaviors into consideration to a certain degree. Needless to say, we have not selected a rug yet, but have narrowed down the size and some options we like. To all those starting to plan a nursery (or any room for that matter), I highly recommend using a room planner tool. We’ve been using Bob’s Room Planner which has been a lifesaver when trying to figure out dimensions, layout and especially the rug size.

We did find a light fixture that we really liked, but we’re currently in the “testing” phase. We’re waiting for a conversion kit to install it and test out how much light it actually puts out. If it’s a winner, we’ll post pictures. During this scavenger hunt for nursery items, we’ve come to the conclusion that you can’t get everything. In this case, you can’t get decorative and efficiency in one. All the pretty, decorative lighting options don’t have a lot of output, but maybe this one will prove us wrong. We’re also going to have a lamp in the room, so maybe we can get away with good coverage with both.

We have found a glider chair that we both really like, but we’re also waiting to post what that is until we’re for sure about it since we just found it yesterday.

The best part of this week was that we ordered our furniture for the nursery! We ordered the crib, a single dresser (to be used as the changing table) and a tall dresser. Our room does not have a closet, so dresser space was a must. It’s nice to have that done and to focus on the smaller, decorative pieces. I feel like a broken record saying that I’m going to post pictures later, but I’d rather show you the real thing than the online versions (especially since they don’t show it in our colors online). I will say that we ordered these pieces from Suite Dreams and that they are all manufactured by Baby’s Dream, which has a lot of great collections.

You’re probably sick of me talking about all this nursery furniture that we won’t show you so here are this week’s details.

Currently: 21 weeks, 5 days

Cravings: Since we were up in MN, I had to indulge in my Davanni’s craving. I love their assorted hot hoagie. Sweets are also still on the list. Trying to keep it to a minimum, but I’m not doing so well.

Weight Gain: At about 10 lbs. overall.

Sleep: I’m sleeping really well, but am definitely a little more tired than usual in the morning. That may be because we were traveling and schedules usually get a little off when traveling.

Mood: Happy. Completely happy.

Symptoms: Still congested, but I think there’s a light at the end of this tunnel. I feel like it’s been getting slightly better.

Looking Forward To: Testing out the light fixture and finding more pieces for the nursery. And maybe starting our registry. I’m not sure when people typically start their registry, but figure it never hurts to start early.

Clothes: Maternity pants are definitely a staple now, but still wearing most of my other regular clothing items. Still holding out for warmer weather so that I can wear skirts and dresses and hopefully keep maternity clothes shopping to a minimum. I am going to need a maternity bathing suit, which I’m not looking forward to getting.

Misc. News: Little Sesame is moving a little more often now. I’m pretty sure she did her first somersault the other day and it was the strangest feeling. Might have a gymnast on our hands.

That’s it for this week. Stay tuned for updates on the nursery and other baby news!

Leave a Reply

