Randomness

Now And Then: Part 2

Television

While reminiscing the other day about the toys I grew up with I couldn’t help but start thinking about all the TV shows I used to watch (yes, I watched a LOT of television growing up). But I also read a lot of books, too. So stop judging me.

Anyway, I thought about which shows really stuck out and made a list – because I love lists. Check them out. Maybe you remember a few of them?

1. Physical Competition + Messy = Awesome

Wild & Crazy Kids
No shortage of messiness and fun on this show. Always wanted to be on it – and get a t-shirt.

Double Dare
I mostly wanted to go on Double Dare to go through the final obstacle course. Who wouldn’t want to search for an orange flag in giant waffles and get slimed? And you could win a walkman!

2. Physical Competition (Without the Mess)
I played sports growing up so these shows were automatic winners.

Nickelodeon Guts
Of course I had it! The Crag and MegaCrag! Who wouldn’t want to climb a foam mountain for bragging rights? And Moe was awesome – mostly because she had an accent.

Which brings me to something else that is very similar (kind of) . . .

American Gladiators (The original)
Who wouldn’t want to compete against people with names like Gemini, Venom and Wolf who could probably actually tear you limb from limb? I know I did. But the farthest I got was the video game – which was probably better for my health.

3. The Series
Oh, the teenage years. Comedy, drama, life lessons.

Hey Dude
Just a bunch of teenagers, hanging out in the desert on a ranch. It was a little strange, but definitely entertaining. (You’re totally singing the theme song in your head right now, aren’t you?)

Salute Your Shorts
Don’t you love the teenage stereotypes?

Are You Afraid of the Dark?
I told you earlier that I liked to read (and still do). I read probably every Goosebumps book by R.L. Stine that existed. So this was right up my alley and probably started my love affair with thriller movies, horror stories and the things that go bump in the night.

Other shows, in no specific order: Clarissa Explains It All, The Secret World of Alex Mack, The Adventures of Pete and Pete, Dinosaurs, Land of the Lost, Welcome Freshmen, Saved By The Bell, All That, Full House, Step by Step, Charles in Charge, Who’s the Boss.

4. The Cartoons
I am pretty sure you’re never too old for cartoons, but these were the ones I watched when it was “age-appropriate” or while babysitting the younger brother.

Chip N’ Dale Rescue Rangers, Doug, Rugrats, Duck Tales, Animaniacs/Pinky & The Brain, DarkWing Duck, TaleSpin, Gargoyles, Hey Arnold, Ahhh Real Monsters, CatDog, Rocko’s Modern Life, Ren & Stimpy, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, The Angry Beavers, Inspector Gadget, David the Gnome, The Wild Thornberry’s, Looney Tunes (a classic) and Recess.

And this one. Does anyone remember this show?

I wish I had a magic koala bear. Although I don’t think the dogs would like it very much.

There is one show that I hope to NEVER have to watch again – can you guess what it might be? I’ll give you a couple of clues. He’s big, purple, and sings. I’m sure it’s all the times my younger brother wanted to watch it, but Barney is the most annoying show. Ever.

I’m sure I’m missing a few more, but all of the above were a part of my childhood and teenage years. It’s definitely interesting to see how the shows airing today compare to those from the past.

Tell me some of the shows you used to watch growing up. Were any of them ones I listed? Any of them bring back any little nuggets of nostalgia for you?

2 thoughts on “Now And Then: Part 2

  1. You totally missed “Where in the World is Carmen San Diego?”
    “American Gladiators” = incredible
    And I challenge you to “Saved by the Bell” trivia anyday.

    PS – We miss you.

  2. Ah! I loved seeing this post! I wanted to be on Double Dare so bad, loved Are You Afraid of the Dark, and yes – I even remember Noozles, although I could never remember the name. I always remembered the flying koala bear with her compact.

Leave a Reply

